St. Patrick's Day Parade

On Sunday, March 13, 2011, the Town of Kearny celebrated St. Patrick’s Day by participating in the 38th Annual St. Patrick’s Day Parade organized by the United Irish Association of West Hudson, Inc. The Parade began in Harrison and traveled along Frank E. Rodgers Boulevard in Harrison and East Newark and Kearny Avenue in Kearny with a closing ceremony at Town Hall. Congratulations to this year’s Parade Grand Marshal George King from Kearny and Deputy Grand Marshals Betty O’Neill Regan (Kearny) and Patricia Gerris (Harrison). Residents and community leaders throughout West Hudson came out in celebration of St. Patrick’s Day. The Mayor and Town Council extend sincere thanks to participants and spectators for making this year’s St. Patrick’s Day celebration a great success. 


Line of March
(Courtesy of the United Irish Association of West Hudson, Inc. published at
Sean McGonigal Memorial Division 1
Assemble at South 3rd Street between Harrison Ave. & Jersey St.
Division Adjutants: Mike Conlon & Jim Miller
Harrison Police Department Vehicle Escort
West Hudson Marine Corps League Color Guard
Commandant: Joe Melione
Color Guard Commander:
St. Columcille United Gaelic Pipe Band
Pipe Major: Joe McGonigal
Grand Marshal Mr. George King escorted by KPD Color Guard
United Irish President Kevin M. Quinn
Deputy Grand Marshals Ms. Patti Gerris and Mrs. Betty O’Neill Regan
Past Parade Honorees
West Hudson Community Leaders (Mayors, Council Members)
Monsignor Joseph A. Carroll Division 2
Assemble at Jersey St between South 3rd St. and Church Square
Division Adjutants: Sharon McKeown
Kearny High School Band Director:
Cifelli Association
Standard Bearer: Albert Cifelli
Parade Trustees: Arthur Pettigrew, Sharon McKeown, Kevin Barber Irishman of the Year
**Military Transport Association of Northern NJ **
Newark Bears Professional Baseball Team- Mascot Rip’N Ruppert & Newark Bears Dancers
Shannon Rose Irish Pub & Restaurant
WCBS 101.1 FM
Kearny Generals Competition Cheerleaders
Scots Club
President: Michael Gray
Parade Trustees: Michael Gray, Joe Coleman, Glenn Costa
**Ragtimers band**
Kearny FMBA (Marchers to 3rd Street, Apparatus to S. Rodgers Blvd)
Chief: Stephen Dyl
Parade Trustees
Hudson County Sheriff’s Department
Chief Thomas J. McLaughlin Memorial Division 3
Assemble South 3rd St. between Jersey and Warren Streets
Division Adjutants: Ellen McGirr
Belleville Irish
President: Patrick Millar
Peruvian Civic Association
Secretary General: Juan Carlos Gutierrez
Mater Dei Academy Fife & Drum Corps
Director: Denise Devone
Harrison/East Newark Elks 2326 Exalted Ruler: Larry Bennett
Parade Trustees: Larry Kelly, Ellen McGirr, Victoria Villalta
**Girl Scouts of Hudson County (FLOAT)**
Kearny DARE
92.3 NOW FM Van
Miss New Jersey 2010
Monmouth County Police Pipe Band
East Newark Volunteer Fire Department
Chief: Robert Tomasko
Parade Trustees: Charlie Tighe (PGM), Ken Graham, Brian Toal
**Toy Cars courtesy of Arlington Lawn Mower**
Division 4
Assemble at Warren Street between South 3rd St. & F.E.Rodgers Blvd South
Division Adjutants:
Kearny Middle Schools Band
Knights of Columbus 4th Degree Color Corps of Doane and O’Connor Assemblies Faithful Navigators: Michael Conlon and Paul Pinkman
Knights of Columbus Council 402 Grand Knight: Daniel Bower
Parade Trustees: Michael P. Conlon, Jim Miller Jr., and Richard Clark
Knights of Columbus Council 6928
Grand Knight: Rick Uhler
Parade Trustees: Joe Reese (PGM), Ed McKeown, Bob Millea
Knights of Columbus Council 3428
US Navy Submarine School “Silver Dolphins” Color Corps
Kearny Celtic Supporters Club
**Kearny United** (FLOAT)
Tappan Zee Bridgemen Band
Irish American Association
President: John O’Neil
Parade Trustees: Pat O’Donnell, Colleen Quinn
Irishman and Irishwoman of the Year:
Ardmore Academy of Irish Dance
Directors: Laura Pace and Debbie Berko
CPR Training Center, Newark Beth Israel Medical Center
Division 5
Assemble at Warren St. between South 3rd St and South 2nd St (Beneath Route 280)
Division Adjutants: Peter Blair
Hudson County Police & Fire Pipes & Drums
Pipe Major: James Woods, PGM
Harrison FMBA
President: David Prina
Parade Trustees: Bob Gerris, Terry Gilmore, Jack Mulrenan
**Thistle Football Club Float**
1940 Mack Fire Engine courtesy of Ace Auto Salvage
ROTC Detachment 490- NJ Institute of Technology
Ancient Order of Hibernians Division 7
President: Ken Evans
Parade Trustees: Ken Evans, Peter Blair, Larry McAndrew
Harrison Soundwaves Marching Band
Director: Leo DaSilva
Friends of Erin
Parade Trustees: Susan McCurrie, Ed Shea, Carol Jean Doyle
**Kearny Elks #1050**
Motorcycle float to line up at Rodgers Blvd. Marching Contingent line up at Warren Street
**North Arlington Volunteer Fire Department**
Chief: Robert Mahlbacher