Mayor Alberto G. Santos & Council Members Sworn In To New Terms Of Office

News Date: 
Kearny, NJ - On Wednesday, January 3, 2018, the Town of Kearny held its Inaugural Ceremony and Annual Reorganization Meeting in the Council Chamber of the Kearny Town Hall.  
Alberto G. Santos was sworn in to a new term as Mayor of Kearny by the Honorable Jeffery R. Jablonski for his 7th term as Mayor1.   Judge Jablonski then administered the Oath of Office to 1st Ward Council Member Marytrine De Castro, 2nd Ward Council Members Richard Konopka and Peter Santana, 3rd Ward Council Member Carol Jean Doyle and 4th Ward Council Member Michael Landy.  
At the start of the ceremony, the elected officials were led into the Council Chamber by bagpiper Francis Raftery.  Brandi-Leigh Enfinger Miller performed a beautiful rendition of the National Anthem, Reverend Peggy E. Holder-Jones offered the invocation and Pastor Tulio Abel A. DeSousa the benediction.
After the swearings-in, the Mayor and Council conducted their annual reorganization meeting at which they appointed citizens to various Town boards and committees.  Council Member Carol Jean Doyle was re-elected Council President.  They also appointed professionals for 2018, including the Town attorney, engineer and auditor.
Mayor Santos gave remarks on the state of the Town and his hopes for the future of Kearny.  He and the Council Members thanked all of the residents who volunteer their time and talents to the Town.  They also extended their gratitude to Town employees for their dedication and hard work.

Click here for Inaugural Address of Mayor Alberto G. Santos swearing in Ceremony 

Photos by Barbara Goldberg
[1] Mayor Santos and his Council running mates were re-elected in November.  Santos has served 18 years as Mayor of Kearny and is the second-longest serving Mayor in Kearny’s history.  He was first elected in November 1999 and was sworn in on January 1, 2000.  He was re-elected to two-year terms of office in 2001 and 2003 and, after the mayoral term of office was lengthened from two years to four years, he was re-elected in 2005, 2009, 2013 and 2017.  Joseph Healey served as Kearny Mayor for 20 years, from 1950 to 1969.