VFW Post 1302 Holds Annual Awards Night in the Town of Kearny

News Date: 

Kearny, NJ – On Friday, May 6, 2016, the VFW Post 1302 held its annual ceremony honoring members of Kearny’s Police and Fire Department and numerous members of the community.  Honorees received awards for their bravery and distinguished and extensive service to the community and were joined by their colleagues and families in honor and celebration of the occasion.  Mayor Alberto G. Santos, Deputy Mayor Anthony Capitti, and Council President Carol Jean Doyle, attended the ceremony and expressed their gratitude to all of the award recipients.



Policeman of the Year

Detective Michael Andrews

Firefighter of the Year

Firefighter Michael Kaywork

Teacher of the Year

Kathy Williams, Lincoln School

Voice of Democracy (Kearny High School)

2nd Place, Matthew Farias

1st Place, Mya Lamboy

Patriots Pen (Lincoln School)

3rd Place – Ryan Gill

2nd Place – Evan Adames

1st Place – Shannon Sayer

Citizen of the Year

Mark G. Wiggins

Outstanding Donors


Amir Djubani, Minuteman Press

Mike Liegel & George Cartora, NuWay Concessionaires



(Photos by Barbara Goldberg)